Can you delete your Google Photos account?

Admin, Thursday, August 11, 2022
Rate this post

short answer

You cannot delete your Google Photos account unless you delete your entire Google Account. However, you can delete all of your content on Google Photos, disable Backup and Sync, and then sign out of Google Photos.


Main Sections

Everyone has their reasons for uninstalling an app or unsubscribing from a particular service. Part of this process, at least in the end, is deleting the account. In the case of Google Photos, deleting the account is not a simple decision because, technically, you don’t actually have a Google Photos account.

Instead, you have a Google account that includes all Google services. This includes Gmail, Google Drive, Google Docs, Google Maps, and other Google services. Everything is connected under the umbrella of one Google account, including Google Photos.

Images google app icon logo google pixel 5 2

Jimmy Westenberg / Android Authority

To delete your Google Photos account, you must delete your entire Google account. All of your data from the nearby Google apps I just mentioned will be degraded, along with Google Photos, of course. This is a path you can take, although we recommend another path:

You can also remove Google Photos permissions from your phone if you want to keep them installed on your device.

Delete all your Google Photos

Instead of deleting your Google account, the first thing you can do is delete all your photos and videos from Google Photos. This will allow you to separate your personal content from Google. Just in case, download them all using Google Takeout first, then delete them. You don’t want to lose anything you may have accidentally missed.

To delete photos and videos on Google Photos AppStart by long pressing any photo or video in the network to select it. When the selected photo or video displays a checkmark overlay, proceed to choose the rest of the content you want to delete. Finally, click the trash can in the upper right corner to move everything selected to the basket.

Delete everything from google photos on your phone

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

On your computer, go to Google Photos website. You can hover your mouse over any photo or video on the network, and then click the check mark that appears above to select it. Select everything on the platform, then click the trash can in the upper right corner to delete them all.

Delete everything from Google Photos on your computer

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

This can take a long time, as you can just select these things one by one or by date. There is no “select all” button that will allow you to select all your photos and videos at once.

Disable sync on Google Photos

Turn on backup and sync mobile screenshot 4

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

On your phone, the next thing you should do is turn off Backup & Sync.

  • Open the Google Photos app on your Android or iOS device. Tap your profile picture or your initials in the top right to open the Google Photos menu.
  • In the Google Photos menu, select Photo settings.
  • in Photo settingsDetermine Backup and sync. This option usually appears at the top of the list.
  • Click on Backup and sync A button to turn the function on or off.

Backup & Sync instantly uploads every new photo, video, or screenshot to Google Photos. This may seem a bit intrusive, as everything you can find in your gallery will appear instantly on Google Photos. At the same time, it can be a very useful function for productivity. Turning this off is the next logical step.

Read more: A beginner’s guide to Google Images

Sign out of Google Photos

The last thing you need to do is sign out of Google Photos. This is not the same as logging your device out of your Google account. However, it is as easy as using it simply without an account.

Open the Google Photos app on your Android or iOS mobile device. Click on your profile picture in the top right.

Select your profile picture at the top right

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

In the next list of options, tap the down arrow next to your name and profile picture at the top.

Dropdown menu inside Google Images

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Choose Use without account.

Use without an account

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

You are now signed out of your Google account on Google Photos. After that, you won’t sync anything with your Google account, and you’ll be able to use Google Photos like a regular gallery app. You can manage the photos and videos on your device without being tied to a Google Photos account.


Read more: How to create and share an album on Google Photos

questions and answers

Move the photos and videos you want to the trash and delete them. After that, they will be moved to the trash. After 60 days, Google will delete it permanently. You can manually go to the container yourself and permanently delete it earlier, at your convenience.

Yes, at least when it comes to content stored on Google Photos on your account. Deleting your Google account will not affect the photos and videos stored on your device, be it a computer, smartphone or tablet. However, if you delete your Google account, you will lose everything from that account. This includes all photos and videos uploaded to Google Photos.

yes. When you delete your Google account, you will also delete all your data across all the different Google services. This includes Google Photos.

Rate this post