How to delete photos from Google Photos

Admin, Saturday, August 6, 2022
Rate this post

short answer

To delete a photo from Google Photos on Android and iOS, tap and hold on the photo to select it. After that, press delete button at the top right.

To delete photos from Google Photos on your computer, hover over the photo you want to delete, and then click the check mark that appears above that photo. After that, press delete button at the top right.


Main Sections

How to delete photos from Google Photos (Android and iOS)

Start by opening the Google Photos mobile app. In the gallery, you will see all your recently saved photos, videos, and screenshots.

Open the Google Photos app on the smartphone

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Long press on the photo you want to delete; This will choose him. Anything selected a check mark will appear in a circle above it.

The location of the trash can icon in the mobile app

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Once you have selected what you want to delete, press delete button and finish moving the selected items to the basket.

Move x amount of photos to trash

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Items in the bin do not count toward your storage limit and are deleted after 60 days, during which you can restore any photos or videos you might have deleted in error. If you want to permanently delete these photos right away, you can go directly to the container and delete them there.

How to delete photos from Google Photos (desktop)

You can access all the photos and videos you take on your phone from your computer. If you go to the Google Photos website, you can also manage and sync those uploaded photos.

Google Photos desktop client

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Move your mouse over any photo or video on the web page to show a gray check mark over that photo or video. Click this check mark to turn it blue and select it.

Select any photos or videos you want to delete. Alternatively, if you want to delete a set of photos from a particular day, you can click the check mark to the left of the date to select all photos or videos from that day.

Desktop Photo Client

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

After selecting the photos and videos you want to delete, tap delete button in the upper right corner. This is like a trash can.

You will be prompted with a message saying Want to remove devices and places shared in Google Photos from your Google Account? click Move to trash Moves the selected items to the container.

The Go to Trash button appears

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Items in the bin do not count toward your storage limit and are deleted after 60 days, during which you can restore any photos or videos you might have deleted in error. If you want to permanently delete these photos right away, you can go directly to the container and delete them there.

How to delete your Google Photos account

Unless you want to completely close your Google account, you cannot delete your Google Photos account. If you wish, you can clear all your cloud data and remove all connected Google accounts. Alternatively, you can uninstall Google Photos from your device, or try one of the following options.

Turn off Backup & Sync

If you want to stop your photos and videos from appearing on the cloud, you can turn them off Backup and sync From within the Google Photos settings.

Use without an account

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Doing so will basically turn your Google Photos into a daily gallery style app. Nothing will be associated with your primary Google account, invalidating any automatic data sharing. Nothing will be sent to the cloud, and you can continue to take photos and videos without a hitch.

Let’s do this:

  • Open the Google Photos app on your Android or iOS device.
  • Tap on your profile picture or your initials in the upper right corner to open more options.
  • Click the down arrow next to your account above Manage your Google account.
  • Choose Use without account.

Read more: How to access Google Photos on any device

questions and answers

Yes, however, it can be a daunting process. As mentioned earlier, you can delete photos and videos one by one or select several at once. On a computer, you hover over each photo to bring up the check marks, and then click those check marks to select the photos you want to delete. Alternatively, you can select all the photos within a period of time by selecting the date. If you long press on multiple photos or videos on the Google Photos app, you can select more than one photo to delete in this way as well.

If you’ve backed it up, which means you’ve turned on Backup and Sync on the Google Photos app, it will be available from the Google Photos platform. They will be saved and stay on Google Photos until they are deleted.

It will not automatically delete photos backed up to its platform. You will have to do this manually. However, there is a function called Free Up Space. This will delete all the photos on your device that are already backed up to Google Photos.

yes. You can do this from the Google Photos app or from your desktop browser.

Rate this post