How to know if your Facebook account has been hacked

Admin, Thursday, August 11, 2022
Rate this post

It’s everyone’s worst nightmare. An online account that you’ve owned and sponsored for years has suddenly been hacked and taken over for bragging rights by someone in their mother’s vault. But sometimes, it is not immediately clear that your account has been hacked. What are the signs that someone is sneaking in the background, reading your personal information, and dropping your friends’ Viagra links? How do you know that your Facebook account has been hacked?

Read more: How to use Facebook – all you need to know

quick answer

Hints that your Facebook account has been hacked can include messages you didn’t post, account details changes you didn’t make, Facebook sending you meaningless status messages, or being frozen from your account completely after you changed your password.


Go to the main sections

Messages you didn’t post on your Facebook page

suspicious facebook message

This is the most common sign of all – Facebook posts that you didn’t write or publish. If a hacker gains access to your account, they will immediately leave messages asking for money. Your friends will assume it’s you, and if the message seems reasonable enough, someone might fall in love with it. Or they can insert a malware link into the message – you know, a useful direct link to PayPal to send you money, so when you log in, their details are now compromised as well.

Messages you didn’t send

FB messenger dodgy message

The next sign that something might be wrong is when your Messenger contacts start receiving messages from you that you didn’t send. This could be a variation of the ‘send me money’ back scam or sending your contact to a phishing website to get their user login details. Some of your contacts may believe it right away, but others may contact you by other means to ask if you actually sent the message. If it does, then you know you’ve been hacked.

Meaningless Facebook status messages

fb . notification

The next thing that might indicate something is wrong is when Facebook starts sending meaningless notification messages. Maybe it tells you that you tried to log in from another country? Maybe your Facebook info is ready to download? Or maybe you tried to upload something on your page that violates Facebook’s guidelines?

If Facebook starts accusing you of something you didn’t do, it could indicate someone else is there, navigating and getting annoyed.

Your account details have changed to someone else

Facebook account

This one you won’t see right away. You will have to look at your account information and be very vigilant about it. Look for things like changing the email address, changes to security and privacy settings – things a hacker might do.

You can’t log into your account at all

facebook change password

Of course, if they change your email and password, your task of kicking them out of your account will become a thousand times more difficult. You cannot reset your password without sending a verification link to your email, and if this is not your email … that is why we recommend that you enable two-step verification on your Facebook account using an authenticator app. It makes it more difficult for opportunistic hackers to gain control of your account.

At this point, you should tell your Facebook contacts on another platform that your account has been hacked and that they should ignore any messages from your account. then, Contact Facebook and report the account as hacked. They will ask you to provide information that proves that you are the true owner of the account, and hopefully your account will be restored to you. Obviously, there are no guarantees. This is the Facebook we’re talking about, remember. Social media tech giants are not well known for their customer communication skills.

What do you do when you get your account back?

17 photos stored on Facebook

Edgar Cervantes / Android Authority

The most common way to hack a Facebook account is through phishing. This is where a hacker creates a realistic-looking fake Facebook login page, and people put their credentials, without them noticing that it’s a fake page. The best way to avoid this is to never click on email links and messages that direct you to login pages. Go to the site yourself, and make sure the URL contains HTTPS at first. Accounts can also be hacked through browsers that remember passwords and keyloggers.

Only if you click a link in the message. This link may lead to malware. In general, it is best not to respond to anyone you do not know or are not sure of. Replying to one message can lead to a lot of spam later.

Yes you can. Go to this page And follow the on-screen instructions. Success depends on how much information you can provide them.

Facebook says that unlocked and inactive accounts are deleted after one year of inactivity. Whether or not this process can be accelerated is unknown.

Rate this post